Final Analysis

So, in this blog, I will not be discussing the technology I used to create my final project. I used Word, and I do not think that is cutting edge. It is a standard, but most are very used to it, and there is little to discuss. Instead, I will discuss how the project has gone. I had envisioned an almost prescriptive document that would be a series of lesson plans to facilitate digital citizenship and ethical and moral responsibility on the internet. It turned out to be much more of an outline to do so than I had intended.

This is because every time I envisioned incorporating an example for a specific class, I found that limited the document’s use. Great for an imaginary class; terrible for actual use. So, the good thing here is that I eventually dropped the idea of specificity (in the document). And that made the whole thing more useful in a broad sense.

Hence, the document does not help anyone just have a look and do a couple of lessons. Instead, a bunch of ground work still has to be done to cater the examples to a specific class (and time).

Sadly, this is also a mini-unit that caters to my teaching style: discussion centred. In other words, a lot of thinking before discussing. Then, a lot of discussing in small groups before we share as a large group. Finally, a lot of questions for the large group.

I also did not include work sheets or some solid item to be assessed by a teacher at the end. I know what I would do; we would culminate with a reflection. I also think we could ask students to consciously incorporate what they have learned into their internet habits, and do check-ins over a period following the lesson.

Where I succeeded the most is that I have a mini-unit that I can co-teach with any teachers in my school who would like to explore these ideas with their students. It is a flexible, living document that welcomes change, adjustments and updates.

 

One thought on “Final Analysis

  1. This is a strong point to be made. Creating lessons and learning opportunities that do not ‘age-out’ or become outdated because of specific resources, references and tools. Adaptability, flexibility and timelessness are very useful attributes for these topics and ideas. Essentially, this is how our course has been created, to not require constant updating and changing of points, links, resources and ideas, but to be responsive and flexible in staying relevant and up to date. A good reminder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

